Mockingbird

I hear the mockingbird sing and I try to copy it’s song.

Soothing melodies fill me but soon my mockingbird’s gone.

I chase away as it’s flying, I flap my arms as I fall.

I don’t know what I am doing. I’m not a mockingbird at all.

But I’m far better than I was before with you.

Yeah, I’m far better than I was before with you.

 Again and again there is singing, I look but my bird isn’t here.

I try to listen so closely but soon the tune disappears.

As soon as I stop pretending I hear my song amplify.

So deep within my emotion, my anthem is alive.

And I’m far better than I was before with you.

Yeah, I’m far better than I was before with you.

Leave a Reply

